Assembly of the Republic of Kosova

Parliamentary Committees

Parliamentary committees are working bodies of the Assembly, through which the legislative and oversight functions are exercised.  

Pursuant to Article 77, paragraph 1 of the Constitution on the Republic of Kosovo, Assembly of Kosovo appoints permanent committees, operational committees and ad hoc committees reflecting the political composition of the Assembly. 

The Assembly, at the beginning of electoral mandate, shall determine the number and structure of the parliamentary committees by establishing standing and functional committees. 

With the decision of the Assembly 08-V-006 of the 02nd of April 2021, Assembly, in the Legislature VIII, has established 4 (four) standing committees, and 10 (ten) functional committees. Committee's scope of work is set out in Annex 2 of the Assembly Rules of Procedure, which must be harmonized with the decision of the Assembly.

Assembly may also establish ad-hoc committees that have the authority of the functional committee. 

The ad hoc committee deals with the consideration of a particular issue. If the Assembly establishes an ad hoc committee, the composition of the committee shall be included in the decision for the establishment of the committee in question that shall be in accordance with Article 63 of the Assembly Rules of Procedure.   

Chapter XIV of the Assembly Rules of Procedure determines the functioning mode of the parliamentary committees.